Campus Ministry


Board of Lectors


The Association is known as the Board of Lectors, St. John the Baptist Chaplaincy, Veritas University, Abuja (VUNA).
Motto: “THE PROCLAMERS OF GOOD-NEWS Patron Saint: St. Bede the Venerable (Feast day- May 25)
Lectors have a task to break open the treasure of God’s word to the people in order for the word of God to take flesh in their minds and hearts. The Ministry of Board of Lectors functions officially as proclaimer of the word at all liturgical celebrations in the chaplaincy and takes the reading at all celebrations in the chapel. The association aims to propagate the word of God as contained in the Sacred Scripture by taking up liturgical readings during Eucharistic Celebrations and/or any other Liturgical celebration with a view of promoting a deeper understanding of the scriptures among its members and the strengthening of the same among the congregation. It also enriches members spiritually with retreat, workshops and seminars.
The Board of Lectors hold their General Meeting every last Sunday of the month and have rehearsals every Saturday. Membership is open to every baptized and practicing catholic who is a communicant. He/she shall purchase, fill and return the membership form to the secretary. A new member must also pass a probation period of one month, attend all meetings and rehearsals within this period and attend masses regularly.

Standing Committees:

  • Executive Committee (EXCO)
  • Auditioning/Welfare Committee
  • Disciplinary Committee


  • President – Akusu Sydney-Michael
  • Vice-President – Okorie Pelagie
  • General Secretary – Ndukwu Vivian
  • Assistant General Secretary – Arokoyo Olujoke
  • Financial Secretary/Treasurer – Fakorede Bisola
  • P.R.O./ Social Secretary – Amamgbo Tochukwu
  • Provost – Ohanele Adaeze
  • Assistant Provost – James Esther

The Auditioning/Welfare Committee is composed of the following members: Amamgbo Tochukwu (Chairperson), Emurotu Okiemute, Etoh Ogu Collins, Fakorede Bisola and Ikeh Nkem. It is the duty of this committee to audition new and old members during rehearsals as well as plan and organize welfare activities of the Association.
The Disciplinary Committee comprises of these members: Obiechinna Johnnie (Chairman), Ohanele Adaeze and Makyur Regina. This committee monitors the conduct and mode of dressing of readers. It handles and resolves all disputes among members and metes out punishment on any defaulting member of the Association as necessary.

Retreat is held every year at or around the feast day (May 25) of St. Bede the Venerable, Patron of Lectors. A novena is organized preceding the feast of St. Bede.